Wells Family Genealogy

The study of my Family Tree

20 Sept 2015: Rev. John Maxson 1714-1778 September 20, 2015

I’ve been spending my morning cleaning out my email inbox.  Between emails about my books and genealogy stuff, I tend to get backed up and have to spend a day untangling the web that is my in and to do boxes.  While weeding through my emails from findagrave.com, I found that someone had fulfilled a photo request for a great family member of mine, the Reverend John Maxson, born 1714 and died 1778.

Here’s the photo they kindly provided:

John Maxson: 1714-1778 Common Burying Ground, Newport, RI

John Maxson: 1714-1778 Common Burying Ground, Newport, RI

Isn’t it a lovely example of the carving used at the time?  John is buried in the Common Burying Ground in Newport, RI.  He is my First Cousin 7 times removed (Being the son of Johnathan Maxson and Content Rogers.)  John married Tacy Lucy Rogers (1715-1753) who was my 5th Great Grandaunt (being the daughter of Jonathan Rogers Jr and Judith Potter)

Here’s a link to John’s memorial page on Findagrave.com:  CLICK HERE FOR LINK

On the Rogers sides of their families John and Tacy were not only husband and wife, but first cousins as well.  I keep telling my friends that marrying your first cousin wasn’t uncommon back in the 1700’s but they don’t believe me.  I site that in Jane Austen’s books it happens quite a bit, but still … they think it’s weird.  Weird it is today, but back then, not so much.

Anyway, as I said above, I got this photo through findagrave.com.  If you’re familiar with this site, as a member (which is free) you can go on a memorial of a person and if there is no photo of their headstone posted, you can request a photo.  when you do this, it sends the request out to other members on the site who live in the area of that cemetery.  If you’re lucky, one of them will trot on over to the cemetery and take a photo that they will then post on the site for you.  You then get an email alerting you that your request has ben fulfilled.  Hence my cleaning out my email inbox and find old John there.

-Jennifer

 

2 Responses to “20 Sept 2015: Rev. John Maxson 1714-1778”

  1. cwgeer@comcast.net Says:

    Jennifer- It’s been a long time since you have heard from me. The reason at this time is because we are downsizing in order to move into a retirement center. I ran across this article, or rather portion of an article from a newspaper published at the time of President Taft. I.e., on the other side it describes the task of replacing Supreme Court Justice Moody, dated June 19. But what may be of interest to you is this partial story about Captain Thomas Wells. I just could not throw it out without sending a copy to you. Best wishes, -Chuck Geer

    • jgeoghan Says:

      I’m a little tardy in my reply. In my defense I’m not the most computer literate and didn’t see your comment until just now. If you still have it, I’d love to see it. If you still want to send the story about Captain Thomas Wells my way, let me know how we can work that out. – Jennifer Jegeoghan@hotmail.com


Leave a Reply

