Wells Family Genealogy

The study of my Family Tree

8 August 2015: Cemetery Tourism — We’re Not Alone!! August 8, 2015

I finally felt vindicated a few weeks ago when this appeared in the Travel Section of the Orlando Sentinel newspaper.

Cemetery Tourism

OMG!  I have a classification now.  Apparently I’m a Taphophile.  Whoda Thunk!

I like how the article says that not only us genealogist headstone lovers visit cemeteries, but also those interested in history, bird-watching, landscape design, history, gardening, art, etc. visit as well.  I have to say, I’ve taken quite a bit of odd looks from my friends over the years because of my odd travelling habits as they call them.  Yes, my name is Jennifer, and I visit cemeteries on vacation.

-Jennifer

PS: The first novel in my series is available for FREE this weekend only on Amazon.  Check it out, and find out what Randall Wells and his wife Lois Maxson might really have been like!  Click on the image below for a link to the page on Amazon.

Free Weekend 3

 

2 Responses to “8 August 2015: Cemetery Tourism — We’re Not Alone!!”

  1. Luanne Henthorn Says:

    Great article! I took a trip to British Columbia years ago to visit a friend, knowing that I also had some relatives buried there. She indulged my “Taphophile” taking me to the cemetery nearest her. As we were looking for the graves, she was hopping around headstones and apologizing for stepping on their graves. As for me, I was respectful when I could but some of the graves were not clearly marked so I was stepping on them which made her cringe. I asked her why she felt that way and she explained that she didn’t want to upset them by stepping on them. I chuckled and said that they wouldn’t be upset, they were just glad for the company.

    • jgeoghan Says:

      I just did a blog post this morning about a cemetery I visited on my trip to Texas. When I stopped in the visitors center in town, they had a list of all the local cemeteries for folks like us!


Leave a Reply

