Wells Family Genealogy

The study of my Family Tree

28 June 2015: Elder John Crandall’s Homestead in Westerly, RI June 28, 2015

Can you guess which is the most popular post on my blog?  Well, it’s from July 1, 2010 and is about Elder John Crandall’s home on Pound Road in Westerly and the Burial Ground there.

Seeing as it’s the most popular, I decided to post a few more pictures I took while there a few years back, July of 2008 to be exact.  First I’ll start with a photo of the house.  Yes, I posted this one before, but I wanted to start with an establishing shot of the homestead.  I didn’t take one directly from the front.  In hind sight I wish I had, but I can tell you at the time, it looked like it was falling apart.

Elder John Crandall Home in Westerly, RI (Photo take 7-8-2008)

Elder John Crandall Home in Westerly, RI (Photo take 7-8-2008)

There are several structures on the property.  The House and many decrypt barns.  This one is the biggest of the barns and the one you have to pass on the path to the cemetery.  I peeked inside and it was full to the rafters with rotting junk.

Crandall Family Barn on Pound Road, Westerly RI

Crandall Family Barn on Pound Road, Westerly RI

Crandall Family Property, Westerly, RI.  Big Barn

Crandall Family Property, Westerly, RI. Big Barn

Crandall Family Barn, the largest one I saw on my trip.

Crandall Family Barn, the largest one I saw on my trip.

Crandall Family Barn, the largest one I saw on my trip.

Crandall Family Barn, the largest one I saw on my trip.

Crandall Family Barn, the largest one I saw on my trip.

Crandall Family Barn, the largest one I saw on my trip.

View from the Barn back towards the Homestead

View from the Barn back towards the Homestead

Keep in mind this is PRIVATE PROPERTY and you need permission to visit the house and cemetery.  I received permission from Irving Crandall who was resident at the house back in 2008.  That said, I’m going to post my little hand drawn map to the cemetery because I’ve never seen one and quite frankly, without Irving there to direct me, I’d never in a million years have found the burial ground.  NOTE:  THIS IS NOT DRAWN TO SCALE!

Map to the Crandall Burial Ground in Westerly, RI

Map to the Crandall Burial Ground in Westerly, RI

The old Crandall Cemetery is at the back of a field and was only in as good a shape as it was when I was there because Irving Crandall had mowed it shortly before my arrival.  If you’d like to see more about the burials here, check the cemetery out on findagrave.com

Sadly, most of the stones in the cemetery are field stones with no names.

Old Crandall Family Cemetery, Pound Road, Westerly, RI

Old Crandall Family Cemetery, Pound Road, Westerly, RI

Old Crandall Cemetery, Pound Road, Westerly, RI

Old Crandall Cemetery, Pound Road, Westerly, RI

Old Crandall Cemetery, Pound Road, Westerly, RI

Old Crandall Cemetery, Pound Road, Westerly, RI

Old Crandall Cemetery, Pound Road, Westerly, RI

Old Crandall Cemetery, Pound Road, Westerly, RI

Old Crandall Cemetery, Pound Road, Westerly, RI

Old Crandall Cemetery, Pound Road, Westerly, RI

Old Crandall Cemetery, Pound Road, Westerly, RI

Old Crandall Cemetery, Pound Road, Westerly, RI

Old Crandall Cemetery, Pound Road, Westerly, RI

Old Crandall Cemetery, Pound Road, Westerly, RI

Crandall Family Cemetery, Pound Road, Westerly, RI

Crandall Family Cemetery, Pound Road, Westerly, RI

Sadly, when I looked up to see if Irving was still with us, seems he just passed away.

The Westerly Sun (RI) – Thursday, June 11, 2015: WESTERLY – A Memorial Service for Irving Crandall, who passed away on May 17, 2015, will be held at 105 Pound Road, Westerly, at The Farm, at 11 a.m. on Friday, June 12, 2015.

Old Crandall Family Cemetery, Westerly, RI

Old Crandall Family Cemetery, Westerly, RI

Old Crandall Family Cemetery, Westerly, RI

Old Crandall Family Cemetery, Westerly, RI

Well, that’s it for my photo display of the Crandall property.  Hope you enjoyed.

I’ll also mention that I’m still in the exciting countdown to the launch of my next novel.  Yes, I’m part genealogist/part author.  If Love is a Lie, will be coming to Amazon next week!  YEAH!

If Love is a Lie by Jennifer Geoghan

If Love is a Lie by Jennifer Geoghan

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

