Wells Family Genealogy

The study of my Family Tree

10 Sep 2014 …. It’s genealogy road trip time again!! September 10, 2014

Yep, it’s time to hit the road again for more genealogy fun.  Every other year I drive up north from Sunny, hot and uber humid Orlando to enjoy the cooler fall weather of Connecticut and Rhode Island.

So what’s on the agenda this year?  Well, I thought I’d through out a few sites I’m planning on visiting and see if anyone has any suggestions of Wells, Rogers, Crandall, Stillman, etc, family sites to see.

In Rhode Island:

Visit Oak Grove Cemetery in Ashaway.  Time to do my check on the Wells family plot.  I’m pretty sure my grandparents stones are in need of a cleaning.

Visit the Thompson Wells Lot in Hopkinton.  Believe it or not, there are no photos on findagrave.com of this small cemetery, so I’ll stop by and snap a few pics of all the stones.  It’s small so shouldn’t take long.

Head through the woods to the Wells Lot where Randall Wells and Lois Maxson are buried.  It’s a fun hike through some treacherous underbrush, but I have a strong connection to those two grandparents seeing as they’re characters in my novels.  Besides, I heard the land the cem is on has changed hands.  Need to make sure the bulldozers aren’t on stand by …

I’m also planning on doing some hiking in Hopkinton on the Nature Conservancy trails up to Long Pond.  Absolutely beautiful trails to the most scenic spot in Hopkinton.   I’m thinking about going to Newport and wandering around as well.  I’ve driven through but have never really walked the town.

In Connecticut:

Visit the New London County Historical Society Library to see what goodies I can find.  Found tons of great stuff on the Rogers family last time.

Visit Cedar Grove Cemetery.  I got a message through findagrave.com that my entry for Moses Rogers was in error and he isn’t buried there.  thought I might go take me a looksy and see what Rogers are there.

Visit the Brown-Randall Cemetery in North Stonington.  Again, no photos on findagrave.com.  Lots of really old Randall stones.

Revisit the Burdick-Culver Cemetery in the Barn Island sanctuary over in Stonington.   Was a fun and easy hike to a lovely cemetery.  If I have time, I’ll squeeze it in.

There’s a Rogers Burying Ground in Salem I’d like to see.  No photos or map on Findagrave.com  All it says is it’s off of 82 about 1500 feet.  Gee, what a help…  Anyone know where it is?

I may also stop by the Rogers Cemetery at Mamacock Farm down on the grounds of Connecticut College.

I’ll also be doing a lot of wandering around Mystic and of course Stonington.  Since my third novel, the one about the Rogers family, mostly takes place in Stonington, I’m excited to revisit the town that inspired my writing journey.

So far, that’s all I’ve got.

So, got any suggestions.

 

8 Responses to “10 Sep 2014 …. It’s genealogy road trip time again!!”

  1. Pat Taylor Says:

    ohhh my goodness,can you shrink me and put me in your coat pocket!!! What a wonderful trip to venture on!!! Please please take lots of pictures, I know you will…lots of notes and give my love,thoughts to our longggg ago family.
    What is it about the cemeteries?? why is there so little respect for such old graves,or any for that matter??? like Mamacock, why is there not a fence around it? a railroad running through it??
    Could I ask a favor, I know you will be limited on time…But could you find any leads at all to the ever allusive Nathaniel Rogers born in 1709 or 10 (swift book) to Daniel Rogers and Grace. On ancestry (are you on it?) it seems everyone is saying 1728,because of application for the ” sons of the revolutionary war” by someone in the 1960’s that was related. I have yet to find anything that can put him with Daniel Rogers but those two books (Barbour collection). They went to monson,montville,Hawley Mass.

    Jennifer Are your books in printed book form?

    Keep us up to date during your trip,it will be like we were there with you,when and if you can.Im so excited for you!!! I cant wait til I can go exploring one day too!!! Pat

    • jgeoghan Says:

      I’m half way up the country tonight. I’m in a hotel in Richmond VA as I write this. Yes, I’m going to Mamacock, but I found out there’s a place that rents kayaks in Mamacock COve! Thought I’d go see the land from the River point of view this trip! Should be interesting.
      My books aren’t in printed form yet …. very expensive to do that. You can read them on pretty much any device, phone, computer, tablet. Just have to download the Kindle App and buy the ebook on amazon. It then downloads to your device.

  2. Loa Don Glade Says:

    I’m trying to connect my William Wells b. abt 1750’s with the Wells family in Connecticut. He appears in Shaftsbury and Arlington Vermont in 1790 Census and marries my ancestor Patience Wellman.

    • jgeoghan Says:

      There are at least two different Wells families in the Hopkinton RI area and another one over in CT. If he’s 1750’s, he’s probably not related to my Wells Family of Hopkinton RI.

  3. Richard Hamilton Fontaine Says:

    I have enjoyed your wonderful postings on the blog and wondered if you had any interest in one of the early settlers of Stonington and Wequetequock, CT named Walter Palmer, and his daughter in law who was Anna Lord…..I have family connections to the Lord’s of Lord’s point and inherited a diary of one of the patriarchs. Walter Palmer has a decedent who lived next to us in Westerly when I was growing up 60 years ago and was a scalawag of sorts but very interesting. His ancestor was also a bit of an interesting fellow. Most important for historical interest is that they have in their direct line of decedents the man who is known to us via the book and movie by Simon Winchester, as the following :
    Contributor to Oxford English Dictionary[edit]
    It was probably through his correspondence with the London booksellers that he heard of the call for volunteers from what was to become the Oxford English Dictionary (OED). He devoted most of the remainder of his life to that work.[5] He became one of the most effective volunteers, reading through his personal library and compiling quotations that illustrated the way particular words were used. He was visited quite often by the widow of the man he had killed, and she provided him with further books. The compilers of the dictionary published lists of words for which they wanted examples of usage. Minor provided these, with increasing ease as his lists grew. It was many years before the OED’s editor, Dr. James Murray, learned Minor’s background history, and visited him in January 1891. Minor got fame for being “second only to the contributions of Dr. Fitzedward Hall” in contributing to the OED.
    Minor’s condition deteriorated and in 1902 he cut off his own penis (autopeotomy).[6] His health failed and he was permitted to return to the United States and St. Elizabeths Hospital; he was subsequently diagnosed with dementia praecox. He died in 1920 in New Haven, Connecticut.[citation needed]

    Walter Palmer is buried in the graveyard in Wequetequock, CT, just outside Stonington, CA.
    I don’t know if you are still on your roots roadtrip but I thought you might enjoy this thread of early history from the colonial past. Richard Fontaine

  4. Denise Pullis (Beaulieu in 6 days!) Says:

    I own a house on Crandall Hill Road in Montville,, CT and I am trying to learn more about its history as it was allegedly built in 1865. It has a lot of old features but we have not found if a Crandall had built or lived in it…

    • jgeoghan Says:

      Interesting. I did find a Francis B and wife Katie Crandall living in 1880 in Montville. He was age 32 so a little young to have built an 1865 house. That’s the only census I found on Ancestry.com with a Crandall in Montville that early. Francis B shows up on the 1850 census with his father in New Haven but that seems to be it. I looked on findagrave.com to see if any Crandalls were buried in Montville that early but couldn’t find even one. If there is a Montville Historical Society, I’d try them. If not, try the New London County Historical Society. Have you tried contacting previous owners of the house? They might know something as well. Good luck! – Jennifer

      • Denise Says:

        Thanks for the links… The 1865 is a guesstimate… When I bought the house it was estimated to be 1900 but was told by the inspector more likely to be late Civil War era. It is going to be fun now that I have a direction.


Leave a Reply

