Wells Family Genealogy

The study of my Family Tree

29 Sep 2012 – Road Trip Report: Comstock Cemetery in Uncasville September 29, 2012

So, one stop I really wanted to make on my trip was in Comstock Cemetery in Uncasville/Montville in New London County.  It wasn’t that I didn’t have photos of the stones but that the “person” who posted the pictures on findagrave.com is – how to I put this politely – an unrealistic fool.   I posted some of the pictures in conjunction with a post on the Newbury family there and he/she had wordpress yank them off my blog post because I didn’t have express  permission to use them.   I’m sorry folks, but if you upload a photo to the internet, don’t get upset when it makes its way across cyberspace uncontrollably.  That’s just how it is.  Whats funny is that it wasn’t that long after I posted that they got yanked so this person must be searching for other people posting them which leads me to believe that he/she obviously has issues to work out.  

While on my little rant, please feel free to use any of my photos to your heart’s content, really, I mean it.  I’m here to help you and share what I have.   So…. here are the photos I PERSONALLY TOOK A COUPLE OF WEEKS ago in Comstock Cemetery of the Newbury Family.

Captain Davis Newbury ( 4 Oct 1762 to 13 Aug 1822) my 4th Great Grandfather.  Davis is the son of Tyral or Trial Newbury (sometimes Newberry) and Anna Davis.

History of Montville,CT, by Henry A. Baker, page 472 …. Davis (17), b. 4 Oct., 1762, son of Trial Newbury and ____ Davis; married Lydia Williams. He was a resident of Montville. Several children died here of a contagious disease.

Lydia (Williams) Newbury (1763 to 19 Jan 1819) wife of Capt Davis Newbury and my 4th Great Grandmother.  I don’t know who Lydia’s parents are so if you know, boy do I want to hear from you.  While on the way to the cemetery, I passed Union Cemetery in Uncasville/Montville and stopped in to see my 3rd Great Grandmother, their daughter Sarah “Sally” Newbury who Married Daniel Rogers.  While parked at the back of Union Cemetery, I noticed another cemetery down the street, the Williams and Friends Cemetery.  I popped in and it didn’t have many surviving stones but it made me wonder if Lydia’s family was in there.  The Williams name did carry on in our family.  My Great Great Grandmother Martha Ann Rogers (Daughter of Sarah Newbury and Daniel Rogers mentioned above) Had a twin brother names Williams Newbury Rogers.  Williams for Lydia and Newbury for Davis, his grandparents on his mothers side.  Martha Ann Rogers married Jonathan Russell Wells and had a son (My Great Grandfather) Williams Rogers Wells.  Over time people just called him William and his gravestone says William (no “s”) but his name was Williams after his Great Grandmother and Uncle.  Confusing, No?

Connecticut Deaths & Burials, 1772 – 1934 (From Family History Center Records www.familysearch.org) … Name: Lydia Newbury … Birth Date: 1763 .. Age: 56 … Death Date: 19 Jan 1819 … Death Place: Montville, Connecticut … Marital Status: Married … Spouse’s Name: Davis Newbury … Indexing Batch #: B03523-4, System Origin: Connecticut-EASy, Source Film #: 3174 (B03743-3/Connecticut-EASy/3347/#29)

Betsey Newbury (12 Oct 1787 to 11 Aug 1822) daughter of Davis and Lydia Newbury, my 3rd Great Grand Aunt

Eunice Newbury (7 Mar 1802 to 9 Aug 1822) daughter of Davis and Lydia Newbury, my 3rd Great Grand Aunt.

Here is a newspaper mention of the deaths of the two daughters from the Connecticut Gazette from 14 Aug 1822:

Connecticut Gazette – 14 Aug 1822 – Eunice and Betsy Newbury Obits

And here are all four stones together:

 

2 Responses to “29 Sep 2012 – Road Trip Report: Comstock Cemetery in Uncasville”

  1. Mark Gove Says:

    Well, at least I enjoyed reading your post about the incident.

  2. cagenjo Says:

    Hi… Just wanted to say – I agree with you totally!!! I am happy to share the photos etc that I find, and I appreciate it when people do the same for me!!!!! 😉


Leave a Reply

