Wells Family Genealogy

The study of my Family Tree

20 Sep 2012 – Rogers House in Waterford, CT September 20, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — jgeoghan @ 6:01 pm

While in Waterford, CT on my road trip I wanted to stop by and see the Rogers House in the photos below.  My cousin took them many years ago, probably in the 80’s if I had to guess.   It’s 11 Magonk Point Road in Waterford.  Here’s the pictures my cousin took of the house.

However…. this is what I found at 11 Magonk Point Road.  A lovely home, No?  It would appear that the Rogers home was torn down.  😦  I found some info on line that said the house that stands there now was built in 2010 but I don’t know how accurate that is.

The Rogers House was mentioned in this book on the history of Waterford,  It was built on land originally belonging to James Rogers, who in 1686 deeded the land and a house to his son, Jonathan, who drowned off Gull Island in 1697.   It is thought that the stonework from the original James Rogers house was probably incorporated into the house that stood there until, well until it was torn down by the folks who built their lovely mansion on top of it.  Not that I’m bitter about this or anything.   When I visited the New London Historical Society a few days later I asked the lady there about this, a historical home being torn down and she said that it’s happening all over New London County at an alarming rate.

Here’s the book on the History of Waterford that mentions the house.

James Rogers House

Here is a book I found at the New London Historical Society that also mentioned the house.

Here’s an article I found in The Day that mentions the house as well as a historic home in Waterford.

 

 

3 Responses to “20 Sep 2012 – Rogers House in Waterford, CT”

  1. Escott O. Smith II Says:

    Hello, I saw this post on 11 Magonk and felt I should offer a response. I grew up at 22 Magonk and was quite fond of the house. I too was horrified when I learned of the plan to tear it down but after talking with the present owner I saw why he had reached that decision. Numerous renovations and termite damage had compromised most of the main beams. After consulting a structural engineer and the Historical Society they concluded it was not sound. When the owner suggested saving some beams for the Society they responded there was nothing longer than 3 feet of any structural integrity and turned him down. Although the house is gone the point still has the same beauty that promted James Rogers to settle there so many years ago.

    • jgeoghan Says:

      Thanks so much for the information. I asked at the Historical Society what had happened to the house but they didn’t know. They did tell me that there is an alarming amount of these lovely old houses that are being torn down and that they feared it was one of them. Becuase I love that road so much, I wrote it and the old (and new house that stands there) into one of my novels. Becuase I didn’t know what happened to the old house and wanted to give it a proper send off, I had it struck by lightning and burn down. I figured I’d rather have it go out that way then just be torn down. I make the new house the home of one of the characters in my book. It’s the third novel in my series (and my personal favorite) The Purity of Blood Volume III The Blood that Binds. It’s for sale on Amazon as an Ebook if you’re intersted. You really need to read the first two books to fully understand the third, but if you grew up on Magonk Point Road, you’ll get a hoot out of it for sure!! – Jennifer

  2. Lisa Muskal Says:

    I have just recently have become involved with my ancestry as well. I am from the Rogers direct lineage. It is very sad to hear that this house could not be restored and protected, although the house that is there looks beautiful. I have personal notes from my mothers cousin who traveled there within the past 10 years or so and she and her husband took pictures of it. While they were there taking pictures, the owner came out and asked what they were doing?! They explained who they were and the owner brought them in to see the inside of the house. Apparently, they did keep the original foundation wall of the home and told my mothers cousin that they knew that they were the first Non-Rogers family to ever hold deed to that property. The owners said that the basement was used many years ago for the cows when it got extremely cold. They felt that the stone wall which is still there is the original wall. It was part of the 234 acres at Great Neck which is now Goshen.


Leave a Reply

