Wells Family Genealogy

The study of my Family Tree

10 Sep 2012 – My Genealogy Road Trip Begins…. September 10, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — jgeoghan @ 8:28 am

I left Florida Friday morning.  Drove into DC on Saturday morning and spent the day at the DAR Library in Washington.  If you haven’t been, you really need to go.  It never fails that when I go, I find something really interesting about my family.  This time it was about Randall Wells, my 4th great grandfather.  But more about that later when I can scan the documents and post them.  Here’s some pictures from inside the library.

 

On Sunday I drove up to Jersey City, NJ to visit Bayview Cemetery to see the stones of my 3rd Great Grandparents Jacob Green and wife Regina Van Gland Green.  If you look at the photo below, you will notice I’m not standing next to any stones…….  Seems they dont’ have any.  Disappointing to say the least.

However, Bayveiw Cemetery is a stones through from Liberty State Park in New Jersey so I drove over there and took the boat over to Ellis Island.  Ironically enough, I have no ancestors that came through Ellis Island as they all arrived before it opened up but still it was very interesting to visit.  Here’s a few pictures.

After leaving Liberty State Park in NJ, I drove up 95 to Norwalk, CT for the night.  I was lucky to get in early enough to drive down to Town House Hill Cemetery in Norwalk to visit the graves of Uriah Rogers Sr.  (1710 – 1773) son of Capt. James Rogers and Elizabeth Harris and Uriah Rogers Jr.  (abt 1738 – 1776) son of Dr. Uriah Rogers Sr and Hannah Lockwood.  It was getting late in the day and I wasn’t sure how the light would be in the cemetery for taking pictures but since the hotel was only a few minutes from the cemetery I took a gamble and drove over.  I was in luck because the stones got the full afternoon sun.

Here’s Uriah Rogers Sr:

Here’s Uriah Rogers Jr.:

Here’s Uriah Sr on the left, then a tree and Uriah Jr on the right.

Today I’m off to Waterford, CT to visit West neck Cemetery, the Old Rogers Cemetery and find an old Rogers Family house.  Then I’m off to New London to visit the Rogers Cemetery at Mamacock Farm on the grounds of Connecticut College and Winthrop Mill or the Old Mill just south of the College where the Rogers family started with Withrop. 

 

 

2 Responses to “10 Sep 2012 – My Genealogy Road Trip Begins….”

  1. Henry Lucas Says:

    Jenifer:
    Randall Wells, Captain of 2nd Regiment Hopkinton Militia is also my 4th Great-Grandfather. He was my patriot of record in my approved application for membership in the Sons of the American Revolution. His son Thomas Varnum Wells (and subsequent grandson Thomas Varnum Wells Jr.) continued the descent. I’m looking forward to seeing the scanned documents from the DAR. For info, Thomas Varnum Wells Jr., a Union Army veteran of the Civil War is buried in Wallingford, Connecticut. Enjoy your trip!

    Henry Lucas

    • jgeoghan Says:

      Hi cousin Henry,
      If you’re a big a fan of Randall’s as I am (His wife Lois as well) Then you should definitely check out my books. I wrote a series of novels brining Randall and Lois into modern times as main characters. Throughout the five novels in the series, I reveal much of their history. How they met, married, what their marriage was like, life in Hopkinton. They’re called The Purity of Blood novels and are available on Amazon as EBooks. Just type my name in the Amazon search box and they all come up. – Jennifer Geoghan


Leave a Reply

