Wells Family Genealogy

The study of my Family Tree

4 Feb 2012 – Gearing up for my Genealogy Road Trip February 4, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — jgeoghan @ 12:39 pm
Tags: ,

So I’ve started to put plans together for a genealogy road trip in September.  Seems far away but a 2 week road trip takes a lot of advanced planning.    Will be driving from Florida up to make stops in Maryland, DC, NY, CT, RI and PA.

I’ll be stopping in to spend a day doing research in the DAR Library in Washington DC.  

At least one day, maybe two visiting cemeteries in the Jersey City/Brooklyn area.  I still have to sit down and look to see how far apart they are to decide if I’m going to be able to see them all in one day.  Going to St John Cemetery in Middle Village Queens,  Calvary Cemetery in Woodside Queens, Mt Olivet Cemetery in Maspeth Queens and Bay View Cemetery in Jersey City, NJ to name a few.

Then I’ll be stopping for the largest chunk of time in the CT/RI border area.  Will be visiting the New London Historical Society in New London, CT.  Besides never having been there before so I’m excited to poke around their collection, I was told they have copies of a WPA project that surveyed all the area cemeteries at the time of the depression.  I want to look up and see what they have on the Rogers Cemetery at Mamcock (on the CT College Campus) to see who had stones there at the time.  Most stones are missing from the cemetery now.  Too close to the river, lots washed in away in floods.  I also want to visit the Old Town Mill in New London.  John Rogers (1648-1721) the first of the Rogers family to come to New London County used to manage the mill.  Yes, it’s burned down and been rebuilt a few times from what I understand, but always on the same spot.

I also want to finish walking through West Neck Cemetery in Waterford, CT (.http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=cr&CRid=1496740&CScn=west+neck&)  A nice little cemetery packed full of relatives that I wasn’t able to get through on the last day of my last trip.  The sun went down and I wasn’t able to finish taking pictures before it was pitch black.  Also down the road is the Old Rogers Cemetery (http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=cr&CRid=103614&CScn=rogers&CScntry=4&CSst=8&CScnty=309&)  I wasn’t able to locate it last time I was up there and a wonderful gentleman on findagrave.com took great pictures for me of the stones but I really want to see it for myself.  Also in the neighbourhood is an old home built by the Rogers Family that I want to try and locate.

I’m also going to visit the cemetery where Randall Wells and Lois Maxson are buried in Hopkinton, RI.  It’s far back in the woods and I’ve never been there but I have a friend who has and says she’ll take me.  We were going to go last time I was up there but it rained a lot and we never made it.

Mystic Seaport has a collection of paintings including portraits of some Greenman relatives.  I saw pictures of them on line but it might be nice to see the pictures in person.  There’s also some captain’s logs from a sailing ship that a Rogers’  uncle of mine was 2nd officer on.  That might be cool to check out.

So, any suggestions for me for places to visit???

 

8 Responses to “4 Feb 2012 – Gearing up for my Genealogy Road Trip”

  1. Henry Lucas Says:

    Should you fine the resting place for Randall Wells and his wife Lois Maxson, might there be a way to take a photo or two? And maybe some info on how to find the site? Past information from Lorraine Tarket-Arruda of the Town Clerk’s office indicated Randall’s house may still stand nearby, and Randall’s gravestone may still exist. I live in California but get to the east coast from time to time, and would like to visit that site. Randall Wells served in the Rhode Island militia during the Revolution, starting out as an ensign, but was a captain when it ended. Good hunting!

  2. Glenn Bradfield Says:

    You are welcome to to visit me at the Thurston-Wells House in Hopkinton City, RI. It is where Augustus & Edward Wells lived. They started the Wells Carriage Manufacturing Company here. The property stayed in the Wells family until the 1950’s. They purchased the property from Benjamin B. Thurston who was a RI Lt. Gov. and later RI Congressman and victorianized the house in the 1860’s.

    • jgeoghan Says:

      Thank you very much!! That’s wonderful. It will be in September but I’m not sure of the dates as of yet. Will let you know when I’m planning on being in town.

  3. Mary Ellen Rogan Says:

    Came to your site after a mocavo search on Plainfield, NJ. I am the Head of the Local History Department of the Plainfield Public Library and was looking to see what was on the web about Plainfield and genealogy. We have a large collection of genealogy and local history and I would love to hear from you about your Plainfield ancestors.

    • jgeoghan Says:

      I’m attaching a report that shows the Plainfield branch of the family. It starts with Joseph Stillman III who is my 1st cousin 5 times removed. I don’t have much info on him or his wife who is also a cousin of mine as well. I wish I had more info on him. His son Jacob Davis Babcock Stillman was quite a character with many adventures.
      -Jennifer

  4. I am utterly jealous (although, provided our financial situation improves, my husband and I have actually talked about taking a similar trip before the end of the year).

    I just found your blog and haven’t learned enough about you yet to recommend any places, but I am now “following” you, and I look forward to reading more about your trip. 🙂

  5. Helen Cawyer Says:

    Check out Wells family in Pompey, NY. Moved there ca 1800, ASA and Elijah Wells. ASA day Nancy, b in Casenovia in 1801 m Charles Dodge. They moved to Michigan and dau Helen Dodge m. E B Turner who moved to Texas, 1853 and became Texas state attorney general. Their day Jennie m. Duval Beall, grandson of Wm Pope Duval, all these my ancestors!!


Leave a Reply

