Wells Family Genealogy

The study of my Family Tree

26 Jan 2012 – Wells Civil War Draft record from Hopkinton, RI January 26, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — jgeoghan @ 11:58 am

It’s been a while since I posted.  It’s not that I haven’t been busy working on my research but that I was reading a book that I highly recommend to anyone called Genealogical Proof Standard, Building a Solid Case by Christine Rose.   It showed me that my research needs to be more fully fleshed out, that everyone in my database should have some citation with it.   Most of them do but not in a concise and consistent fashion.   This is what I’ve been working on, going over my notes and sources.   One benefit that I have found is that while going over my closer relatives in my database, I’ve found that a lot more records has been added to familysearch.org and ancestry.com since I last looked for them.  Here is a good example of a record I found this week on ancestry.com for the Wells family of Hopkinton, RI.  It is a Civil War registration page from June 1863 with the Wells’ from Hopkinton including Jonathan R Wells, Denison Wells, Augustus L Wells and Edward L Wells.

Here is my transcription if you would like to copy it into your database:

U.S., Civil War Draft Registrations Records, 1863-1865, State: Rhode Island, Congressional District:  2nd.  Vol 2 of 2, Class 2/3, Enumerated on June 1863, Page 121 (ancestry.com)

Name: Wells, Jonathan R … Residence: Hopkinton … Age on 1 Jul 1863: 44 … Occ: Manufacturer  … Place of Birth: RI

Name: Wells,Denison… Residence: Hopkinton … Age on 1 Jul 1863: 41 … Occ: Operative … Place of Birth: RI

Name: Wells, Edward L Jr. … Residence: Hopkinton … Age on 1 Jul 1863: 40 … Occ: Manufacturer … Place of Birth: RI

Name: Wells, Augustus L … Residence: Hopkinton … Age on 1 Jul 1863: 41 … Occ: Manufacturer  … Place of Birth: RI

 

4 Responses to “26 Jan 2012 – Wells Civil War Draft record from Hopkinton, RI”

  1. Henry Lucas Says:

    Until 2006 I was unaware we had Wells ancestry. In tracing our family, it was found that Carrie Wells, daughter of Thomas V. Wells Jr. married George B. Anderson in 1887. Thomas V. Wells Jr. was a Civil War veteran, and is buried at Center Cemetery, Wallingford, Connecticut. Thomas V. Wells Sr. was the son of Randall Wells of Hopkinton who was a militiaman in the Revolutionary War. I’m really happy to see other descendants of this and related families, and look forward to your postings.

    Henry

  2. Jim Sanders Says:

    I didn’t realize that ancestry.com had civil war draft records. I’ll have to check them out.

    Thanks, Jim

    Genealogy Blog at Hidden Genealogy Nuggets


Leave a Reply

