Wells Family Genealogy

The study of my Family Tree

15 June 2011 – Family History Center June 15, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — jgeoghan @ 4:02 pm
Tags: , ,

Yesterday I made my first visit to my local Family History Center.  I went there to order some microfilms of info I’d found on FamilySearch.org so that I could see the original document of items I wanted that were text only on the website.  I ordered 6 films.  They cost $5.50 per reel to order as they come from the library in Salt Lake.  They should take about 3 weeks to get here.  I’m super excited to get them.  4 of them were records from Germany for the Kranz and Erbig families.  1 was a NYC marriage record for my great grandparents. The last one was a birth record for Elder John Crandall, my 8th great-grandfather for his birth in Westerleigh, England.  It is suspected that Westerly, RI gets it name from his home town in England.  I’ll be posting the images I get from all this when I get them so check back after the 4th of July as they should arrive some time after that.

The Family History Center also had access to a bunch of different genealogy websites for free.  You could access ancestry.com, footnote, world vital records and more at no charge.  To find a center near you, check www.familysearch.org’s home page.  I think there was a link to find a center near you at the top of the homepage.

 

Leave a Reply

