Wells Family Genealogy

The study of my Family Tree

Dec 13, 2010 – Elnathan Babcock of Hopkinton, RI December 13, 2010

Here are some more family related articles I found on genealogybank.com on Elnathan Babcock of Hopkinton, RI.   Elnathan was the son of Peleg Babcock and Elizabeth Wells.  He was born september 30th, 1790 and died May 26, 1858 in Washington County, RI.

This first article is from the Providence Patriot dated May 9th, 1827 and talks about what happened in the May Session of the General Assembly on 1827.  In the second column about 2/3 of the way down it says “The following members were not in their seats.-Elnathan W. Babcock of Hopkinton”… Babcock – Elnathan W Babcock Providence Patriot May 9th 1827

This second article is also from the Providence Patriot and is dated April 18th, 1829.  It lists town election results and says “Hopkinton – Jeremiah Thurston and Elnathan Babcock, in place of Edward Barber and Jonathan N. Hazard. … Babcock – Elnathan W Babcock Providence Patriot April 18th 1829

This first article is from the Newport Mercury dated September 3rd, 1831 and lists the results of the election of town representatives as members of Congress and Representatives fo the General Assemble of the State of RI.  For the Town of Hopkinton, Elnathan W Babcock, G.W. Arnold, T. Thurston and Edward Barber are elected…. Babcock – Elnathan W Babcock Providence Newport Mercury Sep 3rd 1831

Elnathan’s mother, Elizabeth Wells, was the daughter of Jonathan Wells Jr and Amy Rogers.  Jonathan Jr.was the son of Jonathan Wells Sr. and Elizabeth Maxson.

Elnathan was a Farmer by trade.  Here he is on the 1850 census with his family:

Elnathan is buried in First Hopkinton Cemetery in Hopkinton, RI.  Here is a picture of his headstone:

Here is a picture of the House Elnathan lived in in Hopkinton, RI:

The Jonathan Wells house (aka The Jonathan Wells – Elnathan Babcock House) is a post and beam 2 story house with center chimney and sits on 3.9 acres of land overlooking the Tomaquag Valley.  It has 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and six working fireplaces, one with a working beehive oven and a smoke house in the attic.    Behind the house is a detached 2 car garage with a hay loft and a small barn.  A Late Victorian, wood-shingled barn is nearby.   I have seen it written many times that “Originally the house was part of the Jonathan Wells estate”.  I’ve never actually seen it written that he built the house.  Although he may have, all I can say with any degree of certainty is that he owned and was living in the house at the time of his death.

Jonathan Wells (6-22-1712 to 3-5-1772) has the distinction of being my 5th Great Grand Uncle and my 1st Cousin 5 times removed at the same time.  Jonathan is the son of my 6th Great Grand Uncle, Nathaniel Wells (1672-1768/9) who was the son of my 7th Great Grandparents Thomas Wells and Naomi Marshall.  This is how he is my 1st cousin 5 times removed.   He is my 5th Great Grand Uncle because he was married to Elizabeth Maxson, who was the daughter of my 6th Great Grandparents the Rev. Joseph Maxson and Tacy Burdick.

 The house has been called the Jonathan Wells-Elnathan Babcock House (or Ethnathan sometimes).  Figuring that Elnathan Babcock was probably another owner of the house I tracked him down.  

 Jonathan Wells had a son named Elnathan Wells (born ca 1737).  

Elnathan’s will dated 2 July 1804 mentions his nephews, Elnathan Babcock and Peleg Babcock.

Elnathan Babcock and Peleg Babcock Jr. were sons of Peleg Babcock Sr. & Elizabeth Wells.

Elizabeth was the daughter of Elnathan’s brother Jonathan.

So basically Elnathan Babcock was the grandson of Elnathan Well’s brother or you could say he was his great nephew.

Jonathan’s will reads:  “To the name of God Amen this fifth day of March in the year of Our Lord 1772, I , Jonathan Wells, of Hopkinton in the County of Kings County and Colony of Rhode Island, yeoman, being in health and of perfect mind and Memory, thanks be given to God, for the same and calling to mind the mortality of my body and knowing that it is appointed for all men once to die, do make and ordain this my last will and testament that is to say Principally and first of all I give and recommend my soul into the hands of God that gave it.  And for my body I recommend it to the earth to be buried in a christian decent manner at the descretion of my executor.  Nothing doubting but at the general resurrection I shall receive the same again by the mighty Power of God and as touching such worldly____ where with it hath pleased God to bless me in this life, I give, devise and dispose of the same in manner and form following that is today…..

Item-I give and bequeath to Rebeccah Wells, my dearly beloved wife, (NOTE: Jonathan married a second time to Rebecca Clagget after his 1st wife died) the one third of the use and profit of my real estate together with the best room and bedroom adjoining the same in my now dwelling house with the priviledge of the kitchen and buttery and cellar.  I likewise give to my said wife, two ____ and their furniture and two pots and a kittle and ice kittle and the silver teaspoons, tea tongs and silver strainer and a set of china cups and saucers and ditto of stoneware, two glass tumblers or baker glasses and teapot and her choice of the looking glass and six chairs and tea table and warming pan and two china bowls.

I likewise give to my wife, firetongs and _____ and the case of drawers and trunk and great chair and three basons, six spoons of puter, six plates and two platters and one tub and one pole and trammel and frying pan and three knives and forks, one large silver spoon, all the above articles I give to my said wife during the time she remains as my widow.  But if she marry, it is my will that she shall have no more than one good bed and furniture and eight dollars worth of the rest of the household stuffs as she wishes to have which shall be her estate forever at her disposal. 

Item-I give and bequeath unto my beloved sons, Elnathan Wells and Jonathan Wells all my real estate and all the rest of my personal that I have not already given away by this will after my last debts and funeral monies being first paid.  I give to my sons equally to be divided between them, my two farms to be divided by a northerly and southerly line ______ to quantity and quality and my said sons after dividing said farms shall come to for their choice of said land.  All said land I give to my sons and their heirs and assigns forever. 

And I do hereby constitute, ordain and appoint my aforesaid son, Elnathan Wells, my only sole executor of this my last will and testament.  I do hereby disallow, revoke and disannul all and every other former testaments, wills and legacies, bequeaths and executors by me in any way before this time named, willed and bequeathed.  Ratifying and confirming this as no other to be my last will and testament.

In witness thereof, I have here unto set my hand and seal the day and year before written.

Signed, sealed, published, pronounced by the Jonathan Wells as his last will and testament.

In presence of us the subscribers.

Witnesses:                                Jonathan Wells   (seal)

Ethan Clarke,  Daniel Clarke,  Joshua Clarke

.

Come visit my website at www.FamilyHistoryDetectives.net and let us help you trace your family tree!

 

Leave a Reply

