Wells Family Genealogy

The study of my Family Tree

November 6 – yet another Wells Mystery Letter (1867) November 6, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — jgeoghan @ 7:47 pm
Tags: ,

Here’s another mystery letter I bought on EBAY.  No Envelope to tell me who Mary is but she is related to Emma B Wells of yesterday’s letter.

Here is todays letter:

Hiram  July 10, 1867

Dear Mary,

We received your letter the fourth and was very glad to hear from you.  Alice began to get a little homesick and so wrote you a letter the week before she directed it to Beansville(?) so don’t know whether you got it or not – Alice and I stayed at home the forth it was a pretty lonesome day for us we was going to Parkman to the fire works in the evening but we had a XXX XXX (xxx seing?) afternoon so we did not go Ralph and Louisa went to Parkman to the celebration and stayed to the diner in the evening.

You wanted to know how we get along with Alice.  We get along XXXX she is a very good girl  minds XXX I have had no trouble with her so far she and Louisa went to church last Sunday she went in the bible class perhaps she is getting pious  Tyler Williams folks had a baby in little less than seven month it made quite talk about it.  Jane Howby has got a xxx  she is quite smart.  Mason Mier and I went down to see it one Sunday.  Mrs Ellan is not quite as well as she was when you went away.  Yesterday I visited to Mother Tilden  There was about twelve ladies there it seemed more like old times than it has since I moved away from G  I suppose Alice wrote you about that – Beadsby boy cutting his throat he is getting better he says if they doctor him and  cure him he will cut it again.  Franks wife has been over and spent the afternoon since you went away the day me she and xxx George Prichard and his wife Eatin and his wife Bysan and his wife was here and so I sent for Sophia a Sarah well Mary I have not told you all the news yet  I am making chase I have made sense don’t you think I am doing well  I have been sewing for Mary Horton we are not going to have much fruit our peaches are all falling off and all of our shaws (?) we have currant and Raspbuses (?)  Ed Taleam (?) came out last Sunday and brought Mrs. Ducher and Polly home.  Mary I am no letter write my letters go same as I talk from one thing to another it would persuade most anyone to keep xxx of thxx you must xx look all mistakes

This from your friend

Cordelia Tilden

My respects to yourself and husband.

Come visit my website at www.FamilyHistoryDetectives.net and let us help you trace your family tree!

 

One Response to “November 6 – yet another Wells Mystery Letter (1867)”

  1. Welcome to the Geneabloggers family. Hope you find the association fruitful; I sure do. I have found it most stimulating, especially some of the Daily Themes.

    May you keep sharing your ancestor stories!

    Dr. Bill 😉
    http://drbilltellsancestorstories.blogspot.com/
    Author of “Back to the Homeplace”
    and “13 Ways to Tell Your Ancestor Stories”
    http://www.examiner.com/x-53135-Springfield-Genealogy-Examiner
    http://www.examiner.com/x-58285-Ozarks-Cultural-Heritage-Examiner


Leave a Reply

