Wells Family Genealogy

The study of my Family Tree

November 2, 2010 – Altana M Wells Palmiter November 2, 2010

Are you related to Altana M (Wells) Palmiter (1849-1912) daughter of Silas Wells and Hannah Davis Green?  If so, here is a photograph of her:

I don’t have a death date on her, just a year (1912) so if you have a day and month to go with 1912, I’d like to know what it is.  Altana photo was in my Wells family album of mostly unknown photographs.  I blogged about it a bit ago so scroll down and you’ll find it. She married Alanson Palmiter (year unknown – let me know if you know it).  They are both buried in Oak Grove Cemetery in Ashaway, RI.

.

Come visit my website at www.FamilyHistoryDetectives.net and let us help you trace your family tree!

 

3 Responses to “November 2, 2010 – Altana M Wells Palmiter”

  1. Debbie Butler Says:

    Hi Jen,
    Grandpa Russella son Jonathan Randall Wells had a daughter named Altana. She is my 1st cousin 4x removed. I do not have an exact dod or marriage date to A Palmiter. I will message you when something comes up. BTW. She lived next door to my 2nd ggm Eliza Mary Avery, and her dad, my 3rd ggf Robert Thomas Avery. I named my sailboat after Altana. Love the photo! – Deb

    • jgeoghan Says:

      I had this in my notes for Altana…..
      “In January of 1865, Altana was adopted by her aunt and uncle, Thomas R.and Harriet A. Wells. [Name Changes in Rhode Island 1800-1880, abstracted by Maureen Taylor, pg. 279]
      Her obituary reads in part, “Mrs. Altana Wells Palmiter, wife of Alan A. Palmiter, died at their home on Newton Avenue Wednesday evening, age 63 years. She was born in Ashaway, the daughter of Silas C. Wells, but was early taken into the home of her father’s brother, the late Thomas Randall Wells, who adopted her as his own. She was brought up and given a good education at the village schools supplemented with terms in higher schools. She developed vocal talent which was often enjoyed by societies and churches where she was in demand as a soloist. At an early age she became the wife of Alan A. Palmiter to whom she bore 4 daughters, two of whom are deceased. Since marriage she lived but a short time in her native village being at East Greenwich a number of years and then at Westerly. In all places and at all times she has been a good wife and mother and excellent neighbor – a good woman loved by all with whom she came in contact with.”

  2. Debbie Butler Says:

    Altana is my 1st cousin 4x removed. She was on the census with Silas and Harriet in 1850, then shows up with THOMAS Wells, another one of Grandpa Russells sons on the next series of censuses. I wonder if she was the child adopted by Thomas and his wife?


Leave a Reply

