Wells Family Genealogy

The study of my Family Tree

August 12, 2010 August 12, 2010

So I finally finished my cemetery book.  I’ll be scanning it and posting it in the days to come.  So yesterday I took a field trip to the Halifax Historical Museum in Daytona Beach to see what I could find on Dr. Mary Josie Rogers and her father David Dunham Rogers.  David is my 3rd Cousin 3xs removed.  He was the son of Daniel Babcock Rogers and Mary Ann Tittsworth.  Daniel was the son of David Rogers and Mary Potter.  David was the son of Zebulon Rogers Sr. and Sarah Green of the Old Rogers Cemetery, Waterford, NL Co., CT.   I wanted to find out where Josie, her siblings and parents were buried.  Turns out her folks and brother are buried in Shiloh, NJ.  Wasn’t able to find anything on her.  I wanted to go take a stroll through the cemetery that the folks at the museum said she’d most likely be at but it started raining.   Here’s some of the things I was able to get at the museum:

Josie’s Obit, David D Rogers Obit, Julia Francis Davis Rogers Obit, Daniel Babcock Rogers Obit, Mabel Rogers Obit, Clarence M. Rogers Obit, Mary Rogers McFall Obit:

Here is an interesting article on the Rogers Family and Volusia County History.  Cool photo of family.  is 2 pages long.

Here’s a funny little item on a traffic ticket Josie Rogers got:

Here’s a picture of David Dunham Rogers, wife Julia and Children Mary Josie, Mabel, Clarence and David.

Here’s an item from the newspaper about the relocation of the historic Rogers House.  It’s not on Beach Street, north of International Speedway Blvd in Daytona on the shore of the intercostal waterway.

Here’s a wedding announcement for Julia Rogers.

Here’s a picture of Josie and sister Mabel Rogers.

Here’s a neat little item on Daniel Babcock Rogers.  Talks about his death.  If you’re a sailor, I guess that’s the way to go.

Here’s a picture of Josie Rogers

Well I have more from my trip but this is all I was able to get scanned last night.  I’ll post more in the next few days.

 

One Response to “August 12, 2010”

  1. Ashley Rogers Says:

    This is very interesting. My great great aunt is Dr Josie Rogers, I’m glad I found this!!!


Leave a Reply

