Wells Family Genealogy

The study of my Family Tree

August 2, 2010 – Samuel Hubbard & Baptist Berkley’s August 2, 2010

Yes, it’s been a while since I’ve posted here on my blog.  I’ve been working day and night to finish my cemetery project before my birthday.  Yesterday my computer had an incident that deleted 90 pages on my project.  sigh.  I had saved a copy of it about a month ago and have been working on reconstructing it.  Luckily I had printed out a hard copy of it the day before so I have something to work from.  I could have sat down and had a good cry about it but didn’t.  I somehow thought something good has to come of this and today it did.  In retyping what was lost,  I got up to an entry for what I have called “Baptist Berkley’s White Hall farm on Rhode Island”.  It is where Samuel Hubbard (1610-1689), his wife Tacy Cooper (abt 1608-abt 1697) and some of their kids and grandkids are supposed to be buried.  I had found this reference to it somewhere on the internet a while back:

From: The Literary Diary of Ezra Stiles, Vol. 3, p.82: “A singular gravestone:

“Ebenezer”  Samuel Hubbard aged 10 of May 78 years

Old Tase Hubbard aged the 27 Sep 79 years and 7 mons 4 Jen Maryed 51

Years 1688 14 Vpsal 4. God have given us 7 children 4 dead 3 living

Ruth Burdick 11, 1 dead, 10 living    Rachael Langworthy had 10 children 3 dead 7 living.     Bethiah Clark 9 Living

Great Grandchildren 

Naomi B Rogers 1 dead 4 alyfe    Ruth B Phillips 1 dead 4 alyfe                          Judah C Maxson    Thomas Burdick

“I took this inscription off a gravestone in a family burying place on Baptist Berkleys White Hall farm on Rh. Isld, about A. D. 1763. Collector Robinson bought the Lease about 1765 and demolished the gravestones and put them into a wall: so that all is lost. From a loose paper which I, wrote in 1763 I now copy here. This Samuel Hubbard was a Baptist Teacher, settled at Newport about 1648 and made this Eben. 1688. Intricate as it seems, more is contained on this stone than can be given in other words in so small a space. I think 1688 must be a year common to Four dates. I should suppose the stone erected Sep 27, 1688, when the wife was aged 79 and 7 mo., and Mr. Hubbard was aged 78 on May 10 that year and on 4 Jany they had been married 51 years. The 14 Vpsal 4 is the 145th Psalm and the 4th verse—‘One generation shall praise thy works to another.’ The B and C, I think a beautiful way of expressing lineal Descents. Thus Naomi B Rogers, I take to be Naomi Burdick who married Rogers—so Judah C Maxson was the Daughter of Bethiah Clark and it will be read Judah Clark Maxson.”

I have to admit, I had written this place off as unfindable.  But today as I was typing it, something told me to google it again.  I did and found this…

From: Middletown Historical Cemeteries "Death Comes Once But A Cemetery is forever" compiled by Mike O'Shea Norfolk, Virginia Page 124-125.    Hubbard Lot: Samuel Hubbard Death 1639. Foot Stone ... Location: Located on Bishop Berkley' White Hall Farm Actual site not located... This sole surviving stone and foot stone are all that remains of a small family cemetery. It was found near the door step of White Hall in the flower bed. "the original cemetery was dismantled by Collector Robinson about 1765 after he bought the lease on the property. All of the original grave stones were placed into the rock wall. The remainder of the stones are most likely still retained in one of the many rock walls on the property. This stone and the accompanying foot stone are now located at Paradise School. Headquarters of Middletown's Historical Society.  This very archaic inscription was hand etched into a common field stone Although it is colonial style English, enough of it can be transcribed to enable us to conclude that it is the marker for the grave of Samuel Hubbard.  According to existing records he was born about 1610 in Mendelsham. Suffolk Co., England and died in Newport R.I. about 1689.  There is little doubt that his wife and many other descendents are also buried on the property of White Hall. "The literary Diary of Ezra Stiles Vol. III" contains an inscription of a singular stone which he transcribed himself in 1763 prior to the cemetery's destruction. 'the literary Diary of Ezra Stiles Vol., III”

I emailed the Middletown Historical Society and also the Whitehall House Museum to see if I could get any information on the foot stone.  I’m praying they get back to me with a photo or some information.  How exciting!  Here’s a link to the Whitehall House Museum: http://whitehallmuseumhouse.org  I’m putting it on the list of places to visit on my next trip up to Rhode Island.

Here is who I believe are buried here although I’m sure there’s probably a bunch more:

Hubbard, Samuel  (May 10, 1610 – May 10, 1689)   8th Great Grandfather     (Samuel is the son of Yoeman James Hubbard and Naomi Cooke of Mendelsham, Suffolk, England)

Hubbard, Tacy Cooper  (About 1608 – About Sep 27, 1697/8)  8th Great Grandmother

Children of Samuel Hubbard and Tacy Cooper:

Burdick, Ruth Hubbard (Jan 11, 1640 – 1690/91 )7th Great Grandmother  (Ruth’s husband was Rev. Robert Burdick )

Langworthy, Rachel Hubbard (Mar 10, 1641/42 – After Sep 17, 1699)  8th Great Grandmother (Rachel’s husband was Andrew Langworthy.  Their granddaughter, Ann Langworthy, married Joseph Crandall Jr.)

Clarke, Bethiah Hubbard   ( Dec 19, 1646 – Apr 17, 1707)  8th Great Grandmother   (Bethiah was the wife of Joseph Clark Jr. Children of Ruth Hubbard and Rev. Robert Burdick:

Rogers, Naomi Burdick  (1658 – Jun 1732)7th Great Grandmother  (Naomi was the wife of Jonathan Rogers Sr. )

Phillips, Ruth Burdick   (1660 – 1730 )  6th Great Grand Aunt  (Ruth was the wife of John Phillips )

Burdick, Thomas   (1656 – Jun 1732 ) 6th Great Grand Uncle  (Thomas was the husband of Martha Randall )

.

Come visit my website at www.FamilyHistoryDetectives.net and let us help you trace your family tree!

 

10 Responses to “August 2, 2010 – Samuel Hubbard & Baptist Berkley’s”

  1. Hi!
    In answer to your question of what brought me here, I just happened to drop because I have a WordPress blog too (A Canadian Family) and was visiting the blogs tagged “Family History”. Even though most blogs aren’t in my area of interest (Acadian/French Canadian/First Nations) I still find a learn a lot by reading as widely as possible – time permitting, of course!
    Sorry to hear about the “reworking” you had to do – very frustrating.
    I like the calendar widget with the appended posts. I’m going to have to see if the widget for my theme does that!
    Evelyn in Montreal

  2. P.S. Totally unsolicited advice
    I notice that my comment showed up right away. You might want to put the moderator setting on because the older your blog gets the more likely you are to get questionable comments from spammers. I’ve gotten quite a few over the last few weeks.

  3. Jessica Hodder Says:

    Hi! I stumbled across this blog while I was doing some research of my own family history. It looks like we have something in common…Ruth Hubbard Burdick is my 9th Great-Grandmother through her son Samuel Burdick. (1668-1756)
    I, myself, am relatively new at doing family history research, but I have family members who have been at it for decades, and they recently put together an incredible book filled with information that I have been using to try to construct my own tree on the ancestry.com webpage.
    Anyway, if you have any questions or are interested in any info I have, feel free to e-mail me at jessicahodder@comcast.net. 🙂

    Regards-

    • jgeoghan Says:

      Ruth is my 7th great grandmother. Just to show how intermarried the whole area was, her daughers Naomi, Deborah and Tacy are grandmothers of mine and her son Samuel is a grandfather on mine. Ruth is one of my favorite ancestors as she wrote this great letter:
      From: The Early History of Narragansett
      By: Elisha R. Potter Jr. Published MDCCCXXXV
      Collections of the Rhode Island Historical Society Vol. III
      Page 117-118

      The following letter was written from Westerly, August 4, 1666, by Mrs.Ruth Burdick, to her father, Samuel Hubbard, at Newport. Mr. Hubbard was born in England, in 1610, and came over in 1663. Of his daughters, Ruth married Robert Burdick, Bethiah married Joseph Clark, Jr., and Rachel married Andrew Langworthy. [Backus I. 416 and 475. III. 227.]

      Several of Mr. Hubbard’s family settled at Westerly. Backus says that Naomi Burdick, grand-daughter of Mr. Hubbard, had married Jonathan Rogers, and that on March 2nd, 1678, Elder Hiscox baptized her at Westerly, with James Babcock, George Lamphiere, and two others. Mr. Hubbard’s daughter Ruth had joined Mr. Clarkes church In 1652, whenabout 18 years old.

      Most loving and dear father and mother, my duty with my husband and children presented unto you with all my dear friends. My longing desireis to hear from you, how your hearts are borne up above these troubles which are come upon us and are coming as we fear; for we have the rumors of war, and that almost every day. Even now we have heard from your island by some Indians, who declared unto us that the French have done some mischief upon the coast, and we have heard that 1200 Frenchmen have joined with the Mohawks to clear the land both of English and of Indians.But I trust in the Lord, if such a thing be intended, that he will not suffer such a thing to he. My desire and prayer to God is, that be will be pleased to fulfil his promise to us, that is, that as in the world we shall have troubles, so in him we shall have peace. The Lord of comfort,comfort your and our hearts, and give us peace in believing and joy in the Holy Ghost. Oh that the Lord would be pleased to fill our hearts with his good spirit, that we may be carried above all these things! and that we may remember his saying, When ye see these things come to pass, lift up your heads, knowing that your redemption draws nigh. Then if these things be the certain sign of our Lords return, let us mind his command,that is, pray always that ye may be counted worthy to escape all these things, and to stand before the son of man. Let us have boldness to come unto him in the new and living way which he has prepared for us. Through grace I find the Lord doth bear up the spirits of his in this place, in some comfortable measure to be looking above these things, the Lord increase it more and more unto the day of his appearing, which I hope is at hand. Dear father and mother, the Lord hath been pleased to give us here many sweet and comfortable days of refreshing, which is great cause of thankfulness, and my desire is that we may highly prize it, and you with us give the Lord praise for his benefit. I pray remember my love to all my dear friends with you in fellowship. Sister Sanders desires to be remember to you all, so doth sister Clarke. Your loving daughter, to my power,

      RUTH BURDICK.

      I’ll also add that findagrave.com has her buried in the wrong cemetery. This is her on findagrave.com: http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=gr&GSln=burdick&GSfn=ruth&GSiman=1&GSbyrel=in&GSdyrel=in&GSst=42&GScntry=4&GSob=d&GRid=54918979&df=all&

      She should be listed as in the same cemetery as her father at: http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=gr&GScid=2365960&GRid=57058907&
      I was the one that added the pictures of his head/foot stones.
      Source for her burial is listed below:
      From the Literary Diary of Ezra Stiles, Vol. 3, p.82:
      “A singular gravestone:

      “Ebenezer”
      Samuel Hubbard aged 10 of May 78 yeres
      Old Tase Hubbard aged the 27 Sep 79 yeres and 7 mons 4 Jen Maryed 51
      Yeres 1688 14 Vpsal 4. God have given us 7 children 4 ded 3 living
      Ruth Burdick 11, 1 ded, 10 living
      Rachael Langworthy had 10 children 3 ded 7 living. Bethiah Clark 9 Living
      Great Grandchildren
      Naomi B Rogers 1 ded 4 alyfe
      Ruth B Phillips 1 ded 4 alyfe
      Judah C Maxson
      Thomas Burdick

      “I took this inscription off a gravestone in a family burying place on Baptist Berkleys White Hall farm on Rh. Isld, about A. D. 1763. Collector Robinson bought the Lease about 1765 and demolished the gravestones and put them into a wall: so that all is lost. From a loose paper which I,wrote in 1763 I now copy here. This Samuel Hubbard was a Baptist Teacher,settled at Newport about 1648 and made this Eben. 1688. Intricate as it seems, more is contained on this stone than can be given in other words in so small a space. I think 1688 must be a year common to Four dates. I should suppose the stone erected Sep 27, 1688, when the wife was aged 79 and 7 mo., and Mr. Hubbard was aged 78 on May 10 that year and on 4 J any they had been married 51 years. The 14 Vpsal 4 is the 145th Psalm and the 4th verse—‘One generation shall praise thy works to another.’ The B and C, I think a beautiful way of expressing lineal Descents. Thus Naomi B Rogers, I take to be Naomi Burdick who married Rogers—so Judah C Maxson was the Daughter of Bethiah Clark and it will be read Judah Clark Maxson.”

  4. Carol Welch Says:

    I am also a direct descendent of Samuel and Tacy Hubbard through their son, Samuel. My grandfather, George Samuel Hill received a letter from a Mr. Crumb that son, Samuel, had “married” an indian named White Fawn, possibly a daughter of Terramuggus of CT. She is said to be buried in Rhode Island. Do you have any information about this?

    • jgeoghan Says:

      No, I have no new light to shed on this. I did a little digging and couldn’t fine anything. The family was certainly friendly with the local native tribes but somehow I think that if it did actually happen there would be more written about it.

  5. I too am a direct descendant of Saml. Hubbard & Tacy through their daughter Ruth Hubbard Burdick /Robert Burdick and their daughter Naomi Burdick/Jonathan Rogers
    Families I am tracing: Hubbard, Burdick, Cooper, Rogers, Keeney, Beebe, and Rathbun. Tracing First Day Baptists/Sanbbatarians and Rogerenes too.

    • jgeoghan Says:

      Well then we’re cousins!! There’s a great book called the History of the Rogerenes you should check out.

      • Thanks Jennifer for the lead on the Rogerenes and the wonderful blog site. Have you seen the relatively new book; For Adam’s Sake by Allegra di Bonaventura? It is very scholarly and has great discussion on our Rogers’ and Beebe’s of New London, CT Even has some of the Rogers genealogy in the back. Nice to find another cousin

      • jgeoghan Says:

        I picked up For Adam’s Sake on my last trip up north. It’s sitting in my To Be Read pile. Seeing as I’m an author myself, that pile doesn’t see as much action as I wish it would. I like posting on the Rogerenes. I feel that most things written about them are written by the “scholarly” type and are biased. I think to get a true understanding of the Rogerenes, you have to be a person of faith.


Leave a Reply

