Wells Family Genealogy

The study of my Family Tree

June 3, 2010 – The Randall Family June 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — jgeoghan @ 7:02 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I realized the other day that I have never really researched the Randall side of the family tree.  Thankful Randall is my 6th Great Grandmother.  She married John Maxson the 3rd.  Thankful was born about 1703 in Stonington, CT and died in 1785 in Westerly, RI.  Her parents were Matthew Randall and Eleanor Utter.  Matthew was born 1671 in Hopkinton, RI and died December 19, 1735 in Westerly.  Matthew’s father is John Randall Sr. (1629-1685) and seems to be the immigrant ancestor, born in Bath, England and died in Westerly.  I’ve always wanted to visit Bath.  I’m a big Jane Austen fan and a lot of her books take place in Bath.  John Randall Sr’s parents were Matthew Randall and Elizabeth Moorford.  I go back one more generation to another John Randall but his details are sketchy.  I guess it’s ironic that some people might consider tracing a line in your family back 11 generations something but not me.  There aren’t a lot of details attached to this line.  Not any book references or back up.  Anyone know a good reference material source for them?  If so, do share. 

John Maxson the 3rd and Thankful Randall are grandparents 2 times of mine.  Through their sons Matthew and David.  More cousins marrying cousins I suppose.

 

4 Responses to “June 3, 2010 – The Randall Family”

  1. Caroiine Hennessy Says:

    Hi

    My name i Caroline [Cook] Hennessy.

    Found you on a google search for Wells family of Westerly RI.

    Guess once you are descended from one family in this religious family you likely are descended from a few more. Makes family trees fun.

    My line comes from Major Wesley Cook [1822-1845] who married Mary Maxon [c 1791-1857]. Mary, Richard, John, John…..Maxon. And thus the ties to the Wells, Burdicks, Clarks, Crandalls, and the list goes on.

    I haven’t had the chance to read all your work here yet. Looking forward. Thanks for your contribution.

    Caroline

  2. Sue Sullivan Says:

    I am an ancestor of the Maxon/Maxson family and was wondering if you found where Thankful and John were buried-Also Benj. their son who married Eunice Reynolds-Thanks-

    • jgeoghan Says:

      Sadly I have no info on where any of them are buried. I can tell you they aren’t listed in the Hopkinton RI Cemetery book so it’s probably in Westerly somewhere in an unmarked family grave back in the woods somewhere. I’d love to know as My 4th great grandmother Lois (Maxson) Wells was John and Thankful’s granddaughter (through their son John III) and she is a character in my novel series. (The Purity of Blood by Jennifer Geoghan available on Amazon) I love her and her family history and wrote a lot of it into my novel series. I think your best bet is to contact the Westerly, RI Historical Society and see if they have any info on where they might be buried. I don’t think there is a Westerly Cemetery book to consult.


Leave a Reply

