Wells Family Genealogy

The study of my Family Tree

April 2, 2010 – Dead People don’t need Addresses April 2, 2010

Worked on my cemetery listing more today.  My biggest pet peeve about cemetery research is that cemeteries don’t seem to have street addresses.  My life would be considerably easier if they did.  I dont’ know why they don’t, They’re on streets, they must have some official street number.  I mean I guess they don’t need to publish it, the people there aren’t going to be getting a lot of mail but still, would it kill someone to slap the street number on the post out front!   When I find info where someone is buried, I look them up on www.findagrave.com to see if they are there.  If they are, there might be a picture of the gravestone there or at least a photo of the cemetery.  Most cems there have a map to where the cem is but not all.  Some will just have a town, county, state listing and some just county, state.  Still, tons of great info there.  From the map on findagrave, I go to www.vpike.com a great website where you can put in a street, town, state and it will give you a 360 degree street view of where you’re looking for (most of the time, not all streets are in there, main streets mostly but some side ones as well).  From here, it will give you an approximate street address of what you’re looking at and if I’m lucky enough to be looking at the front of the cemetery, Voila!  Sometimes, it works, sometimes not.  Like I said yesterday, what did we do before the internet!

Nothing to do with the above but I was thinking yesterday about my trip up to RI, CT, NY last fall.  One of the big difference between those states and FL where I live is the surprising lack of rock walls in FL.  I love old rock walls and New England is crazy with them.  I don’t know why I love them.  Maybe it’s because they were probably there for generations of my family to look at and sit on.  They have permanency.  Orlando if decidedly un-permanent.  The whole town is transient and temporary.  The few rock walls here are at Disney and I hate to break it to you but as a Disney employee, I can tell you that rock wall… it’s fake and probably fiberglass or concrete to boot.

So since I have like hundreds of cemeteries I’m working on, I decided to do “Cemetery of the Day” and showcase my relatives in that cemetery for a day.  So today’s cemetery is: The Randall Cemetery in North Stonington, CT

Randall Cemetery, North Stonington, CT   41 Norwich-Westerly Road, North Stonington, CT.   Buried here is Dr. Thomas Thompson Wells (  1790 – Oct 7, 1842 ) my   3rd Cousin 4Xs Removed.  Thomas was married to Desire W. Randall which may explain why he is buried here at the Randall Cemetery.  Also here is Abigail M. (Randall )  Chesebro (Apr 26, 1773 – Jan 20, 1849) who is my 3rd Cousin 5Xs Removed.  I visited this cemetery last fall.  It only has a few stones but is in a large stone enclosure.  I got the impression that the whole enclosure probably had graves but that only a few stones seemed to remain. 

The Randall Cemetery is on property currently owned by the Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Nation.  Prior to their purchasing the land, the property was known as Randall’s Ordinary. 

I found this description of Randall’s Ordinary on line:

 

“Much more than your typical country inn “getaway,” Randall’s Ordinary Inn & Restaurant offers a unique opportunity to experience life in the 1600s. The farmhouse, built in 1685 by John Randall II, features our three oldest guest rooms as well as our restaurant. The barn and silo, built in 1819, house our lobby, office and twelve guest rooms. Three more rooms are located in a log cabin that rests atop an open field just yards from the restaurant. Ideal for a family reunion or a corporate retreat, this spacious cabin features a large kitchen and living room area with a majestic stone fireplace. Randall’s Ordinary offers authentic colonial cuisine prepared in an open-hearth fireplace. Enjoy the warmth of a crackling fire as a harpist spins colonial melodies. More than just a dining experience, it is a cultural experience, one that transports you all the way back to 1685.”

.

Come visit my website at www.FamilyHistoryDetectives.net and let us help you trace your family tree!

 

Leave a Reply

