Wells Family Genealogy

The study of my Family Tree

Day One April 1, 2010

So I decided to start a blog to share my research on the Wells Family of Ashaway, RI.  Of course when I say the Wells Family, I also mean all allied families which would also include the Stillman , Rogers, Crandall, Weber, Erbig, Green, Vincent, Maxson families and many more.   I started working on my family tree for s school social studies project back when I was in 8th grade.  I was lucky that I was just one in a line of many generations of members of my family that had been interested in recording our history.  I’ve worked on the tree off and on for years after that but about ten years ago,  I got back into it full time because of all the new information that was coming out on the internet.  What would a genealogist do these days without the internet!!!!  It’s such a blessing and a curse as well.  So much information, so hard to tell what’s really accurate!  So many people will publish their family tree on the internet and not bother to check the facts.  Family rumor quickly turns into gospel online.  

So my current projects include creating a book with all the known burial places of our family.  This has turned out to be a much larger project than originally anticipated.  My first pass at this project yielded about 30 pages.  This was in one of my Family Tree books that I’ve made for a small number of relatives and family enthusiasts.  My “update” to that edition is now over 55 pages in length and includes none of the information in the first edition.  I’m limiting what I list to only those burials inside the USA.  So far their are 20 states and well over 120 cemeteries.  Whew!  The greatest concentrations are in NY, CT and RI with runners up of OH and WI.   I’ve found this project to be a real eye opener in showing how the family migrated in waves from the RI/CT/NY are out West.   before a couple of years ago, I really had no info on the wave of the family that migrated West except for a great Aunt Sylvia Wells who went West.  I didn’t really have much info on her but a couple of year ago I came across this book called Matthew James of New Hampshire.  This book opened up that whole side of the family. 

I’m also working on a series of articles for my next book that are on the houses of our family.  They include the Randall Wells house in Ashaway, RI, The Phineas Crandall House in Alfred, NY, The Thomas Wells House in Hopkinton, The Thurston-Wells House in Hopkinton, RI, the Jonathan Wells House in Hopkinton and a few others.

So, this is day number one of my blog.  I’m going to try to update everyday weekday with things that I discover.  So are you a Wells Family researcher?  If so I’d love to hear from you.

-Jennifer

.

Come visit my website at www.FamilyHistoryDetectives.net and let us help you trace your family tree!

 

Leave a Reply

